Memories of Italy

My brother is the original renaissance man.  He makes his own beer, sausage, bacon, pickles…you name it!   On my last visit to his house, I tried a batch of his homemade cavatelli.  It was so good and sent me on mental trip back to an Italian trattoria.   A few weeks after the visit, my brother sent me a gift.  I opened the box and, lo and behold -  it was a machine that cranks out homemade cavatelli, just like his. Cavatelli can certainly be made by hand, but this machine cranks them out beautifully. My brother recommended a recipe he found in a book by Frankies Spuntino. Ricotta Cavatelli

I eagerly made up a batch and invited my very Italian friend to dinner.  The cavatelli were amazing!  Everyone loved them and I highly recommend the recipe.  Alongside the pasta, I decided to indulge in another of my favorite Italian foods:  Sausage!  I made some homemade Italian sausage and served the grilled patties on a crusty roll with fried peppers and onions.  Squisito!

Thanks to Rick, for his inspiration and sharing his mastery of all things culinary!  (And Rick:   My oven is still broken!)

Homemade Cavatelli with quick tomato sauce 

(Cavatelli Recipe from The Frankies Spuntino Kitchen Companion & Cooking Manual by Frank Castronovo, Frank Falcinelli, and Peter Meehan (Artisan, 2010)

Homemade cavatelli  (Either make your own,  cavatelli recipe, or purchased)

Quick tomato sauce:

1 can of crushed tomatoes
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped fine
1 handful fresh parsley, chopped
1 handful fresh basil, chopped
1 tsp hot pepper flakes
2 T olive oil
1/2 cup dry white or red wine
1 T kosher salt
2 tsp ground black pepper

Heat saucepan with olive oil, when oil is hot, add the onion and saute until softened, add the garlic and the pepper flakes and saute for 2 minutes.  Add the rest of the ingredients and cook on medium/low heat for 20 minutes.  Serve over hot pasta.

Homemade Hot Italian Sausage patties

3 lb Pork Butt Ground (I had the butcher grind a pork butt on a course grind)
2 T Fennel Seed, toasted in a hot pan until fragrant
3 tsp Cracked Black Pepper
3 tsp Sea Salt
2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1 tsp cayenne pepper
2 T paprika
5 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup of Fresh Italian parsley, chopped fine
1/2 cup red wine
1 T balsamic vinegar

Mix all the above together well with your hands.  Refrigerate for at least two hours.  Form into patties and grill or pan fry.  Serve on Italian rolls with fried peppers and onions.


One response to “Memories of Italy

  1. Looks awesome. I am so jealous! MArti and Max aren’t into the sausage, but that doesn’t meanI’m not! Both recipes looks like winners!

Leave a Reply

