Old School Sausage Risotto

Sausage risotto

Comfort food. Food Mama made. The tastes and smells of a day gone by. These are the things that keep me coming back to an old, but dare I say it, incorrect recipe. Growing up with six brothers and sisters really made for interesting family dinners. My mother was adept at fixing good, wholesome food her family loved without a lot of fuss. This is one of those recipes. I will admit, the foodie in me cringes on this fast method of risotto making, but I tried it once the correct way, using arborio rice, hot broth and a lot more effort. The result? It didn’t taste right. It was good, but no longer fit my memory of one of my favorite foods growing up. So, snobbery be gone, and hello convenience!

This is an oft requested recipe at our house. Everyone loves it and it comes together in under 40 minutes.
I serve it with a big green salad, and sometimes garlic bread with amoglio sauce. I hope it becomes a family favorite for you too!

Ingredients:

1 pound Italian sausage (your choice.. I like hot or fennel)
2 T tomato paste
1 tsp hot pepper flakes
3 tsp dried rosemary, rubbed in your hands until broken up.
2 cups of white rice (like Uncle Bens)
1 splash of white wine (2 -3 T)
1 carton of chicken broth (4 cups)
2 T tomato paste
3/4 cup of good parmesan, grated
salt and pepper to taste

Process:

Take the sausage out of the casings and fry it in a large frying pan, breaking it up as you go into small pieces until it is all browned.
(If you have a lot of fat in the pan, drain most of it away.) Add the spices and tomato paste and saute a few minutes. Add the rice and
stir into the mixture well. Add the wine and cook for a few minutes. Next, add the carton of broth and saute until the liquid comes to a boil.
Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook for 22 minutes. Take the pan off the heat and let sit for 5 minutes more.
Add the parmesan and some black pepper. Taste and add salt if needed.
Enjoy.

One response to “Old School Sausage Risotto

  1. Risotto is my absolutely favorite food. I haven’t tried sausage before (Beef and shrimp is my favorite), but I was very interested to see that you use my same method for cooking. It’s not actually traditional but I like the result WAY better :)

Leave a Reply

