Leftover frozen berry crisp

Arghhh!  It happened again!  I look for fruit to give my kids for breakfast and all I can find is a wrinkled apple!
To the freezer, Batman!

I don’t know about you, but I always have partial bags of frozen berries in my freezer.

Maybe from leftover muffins, or when I went through the smoothie phase… who knows?  The important thing is not to waste them!
I make this crisp sometimes in the evening to serve for breakfast the next day. A slice of whole wheat toast looks
a lot more appetizing when it is nestled against some warm, sweet berry crisp!

I know what you’re thinking… “Some Mom! Dessert for breakfast? Loser!”  Now, now, now, remember:
It has fruit, it has fiber, it warms the belly and it makes your babies feel loved! NOW who’s the loser, honey?

Ahem.. Sorry. I hate being judged. This is good for breakfast, lunch, dinner or whenever you think your kids are looking like they have scurvy.

Leftover frozen berry crisp

3 partial bags of frozen berries (In the picture I used tart cherries, wild blueberries, and regular blueberries)
2 T brown sugar ( I used white because I was out of brown, but I added a little molasses… mother of invention and all that!)
2 T all purpose flour
If not using a tart fruit, add a squeeze of lemon juice
2/3 c all purpose flour
1/2 c brown sugar
1/2 c regular oats
1/2 t ground cinnamon
4-5 T chilled butter in small pieces (If using unsalted butter, add a pinch of salt)

Preheat oven to 375 deg. Butter an 8×8 baking dish.
Place all the berries in the dish, add 2 T flour and  2 T sugar and mix them up in the dish. (add the lemon juice here if you need it)
In a bowl, place the rest of the ingredients, mix them up and use your fingers to break the butter into the mixture until it
resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle the crumbs over the frozen berries and bake in the oven for 40 minutes.
Serve with a little whipped cream if your kids need more calcium too!

Leave a Reply

