Veggie Curry and potstickers

OK… I know it is cheating, but it has been a long day at work and this is one of my favorite quick meals if I have the following in the freezer/pantry:
Frozen potstickers and S&B golden curry sauce mix. If you have never heard of either of these things, get your keester on over to the local Asian grocery store and pick them up, while you are there you may as well get some Japanese rice to cook with it. Follow the recipe on the rice package or just do what I did and get a rice cooker. I love how easy and foolproof it is!

I made this dish a lot when my teenage daughter was a vegetarian because it had good nutrition and protein from the chick peas. I appeased my “must-have-meat” sons by serving it with
pork potstickers on the side, and voila! Dinner is served! Note: I have three kids who claim they will not eat an onion and yet I put onions and or garlic in EVERYTHING I make… I just tell them it is mixed vegetables. That’s really not lying, right? I mean onions ARE vegetables, right?

Veggie Curry ( I know this sounds far-out, but it is like an asian beef stew!)

1/2 pkg of S&B Golden Curry sauce mix (we like medium hot)
3 and 1/3 cups of water
4 peeled and sliced carrots
1 pkg of frozen peas
1 large onion chopped
1 can chick peas drained and rinsed
2 large potatoes peeled and chopped
kale or spinach or any other veggie your kids will eat. (My kids will eat Kale we grow in the garden! Who knew?)

Saute onions over med-high heat in 1 T of vegetable oil, when lightly browned add carrots and potatoes, add the water and let it come to
a boil. Reduce heat and cover. Simmer for 15 minutes or until the carrots and potatoes are tender. Add 1/2 pkg of the curry sauce mix and stir until it dissolves.
Add the package of peas, the chick peas and the spinach or kale if you want, it is fine without it. Simmer for 5 minutes more.
Serve over steamed rice or noodles. Don’t forget the potstickers!

Potstickers: heat 1 T oil in fry pan, add potstickers, cook for 3-4 minutes. Add 2 T of water to the pan, reduce heat to low and cover.
Steam for 7 minutes. Take off the lid and take a look at the bottoms, if they are not crisp and golden brown, keep cooking until they are!
A potsticker is called a potsticker for a reason!

Serve with potsticker sauce

Potsticker sauce:

3 T soy sauce
3 T rice wine vinegar
1 clove garlic grated
a little grated ginger
dash sesame oil and hot sauce

Mix all together and serve with the potstickers!   I know.. it is not the most appetizing dish in the world.. but trust me… it is good.

Note:  If you have any extra curry leftover, wrap it in some pizza or pie dough and bake it for some fun, funky appetizers!

2 thoughts on “Veggie Curry and potstickers

Leave a Reply

