Chocolate Strawberry cupcakes

Today is my daughter’s teacher’s birthday.  Normally this would not be cause for stress, but I am the room mother.  Yes.  I know what you are thinking… isn’t she old enough
to know better than to be volunteering to be room mother? I am. But I did anyway. At any rate… I was trying to think of a good treat for this auspicious occasion. Cupcakes came to
mind.. kids birthdays=cupcakes, right? But I wanted to do something for the teacher too. So I decided to dress them up a little. Hence this recipe.
How great is a chocolate covered strawberry? Yeah. Me too…. drool….
They were a big hit. I made the teacher a funny balloon hat, (I am a multi-faceted woman) she was such a good sport she even wore it.
I even came up with a party game… a really long, long-division problem. The winner won a package of gumballs. I am a shameless suck-up.
Check out the picture… are you jealous of my new cupcake carrier? My sweet hubby bought it for me for Christmas! He has seen me slog to school
trying to carry 2 dozen cupcakes before… it is not pretty.

At any rate… here is the recipe:

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cupcakes Chocolate covered Strawberry cupcakes

cake:
1 box white cake mix
Strawberry jello

Follow the directions on the box of cake
add half a package of stawberry jello, mix until incorporated
follow the package for baking the cupcakes
When cool frost with:

strawberry buttercream frosting:
1 stick of unsalted butter
3 cups of confectioners sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3-5 T of cream or milk
3 T strawberry jam

Cream butter, add all the ingredients and whip until incorporated.
Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Mix on high for 2 minutes or until fluffy.

Frost the cupcakes. When frosted drizzle the tops with chocolate ganache

Chocolate ganache:
1/2 pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 c cream
1/2 t vanilla
1 T butter

Put chips in a large bowl, heat everything else in the microwave until boiling.
Add to the chocolate chips and whisk until smooth. (if not smooth, heat on high in microwave in 10 second intervals, stirring until smooth.)

Drizzle over the cupcakes. (I put it into a small baggie, snipped off the corner and used that.)

The kids (and teacher) loved them!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Strawberry cupcakes

  1. Jessica

    When my daughter asked for a green cake I remembered that you had added jello to your cupcake batter so I decided to give it a try. I used a yellow cake mix and added half a package of lime jello and then a little more just to get the color right. Frosted with buttercream frosting the cake was delicious, with a hint of lime and the color was perfect. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

