Friday Fish Sandwiches

Not to sound too much like Sandra Lee, but sometimes it is nice to use a few shortcuts to get dinner on the table quickly.
This recipe has only one homemade part. The sauce. Now that is not to say that you can’t make your own homemade roll, catch some fish,
bone, skin and fry it and have one lovely sandwich. You can. Go for it… I’m not.  I bought some breaded fish filets at the store, and some nice
hamburger buns and my sandwich is still elevated above the ordinary because I made my own sauce.
I don’t know why, but my kids get super excited on fish sandwich night! It cracks me up. I would have rebelled big-time!
I mean, unless I was being taken to McDonalds for a filet-o-fish, you could count on a pretty big frown if we were having boxed fish sticks.
So I think that the popularity of a fish sandwich in my house is due to the sauce.  At least I tell myself that. It makes me feel like a better person.

Homemade tartar sauce

3/4 cup of a good mayo (I don’t think miracle whip will work here.)
3 T sweet pickled relish
1 shallot chopped fine
3 peppadew peppers (any sweet pickled pepper will work) chopped fine
1 T lemon juice
salt and pepper
a couple of shakes of Franks red hot sauce (My kids eat this out of the bottle. I mean it. Seriously.)

Mix all together to form your sauce, slather a toasted bun with the sauce, put fish filet on bun, put some shredded lettuce on the bun.
Voila. Now watch my kids cover the whole thing in hot sauce. Yeah, really.

Leave a Reply

