Taco Pie

Have you ever met a kid who doesn’t like tacos? Me either. When I had my fourth baby, my sister MaryEllen came and stayed with us for a week to help me out. (Aren’t sisters great?)
Every night she made one of her kids favorite meals, and every night I watched my own kids clean their plate. I am grateful for the time she spent with us, but also for
giving us new menu ideas! (Not enough to make me ever want to get pregnant again, though!) This is one of the recipes Mare made for us and it has
become a staple in our house. The cool thing about it is that you can add so many things to it… chopped olives, peppers, peppers in adobo sauce, corn… whatever your
kids will tolerate. I like to serve this entree with my creamy salsa corn and a green salad with salsa ranch dressing. My kids still love this dinner and I hope yours will too!
Note: I used my own pie crusts in this recipe, but you can easily use the boxed ones or the frozen ones. For me, it is just as easy (and cheaper too) to use my own.
(Post a comment if you would like the recipe! It is the best pie crust EVER!) If you are not feeding 6, you can freeze one of the pies just don’t put the last layer of crushed tortilla chips
on until you are ready to bake it… Cover it with plastic wrap and a layer of foil and freeze. When you are ready to bake it, put on the crushed chips and bake it for an extra 10-15 minutes or
until it is warmed through. We always bake two… it makes a great lunch the next day.

Taco Pie

1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef
1 pkg taco seasoning
1 can refried beans
1/2 c salsa
Crushed Corn Tortilla Chips (about 1/3-1/2 a bag of plain corn chips)
1 bag of shredded cheddar cheese
2 pie crusts

Line 2 pie pans with your pie crusts. Set aside. Preheat oven to 350 deg. Brown the ground beef until no pink remains and drain the grease off.
Add the taco seasoning and 1/3 c of water to the pan. Cook for a few minutes. Turn off heat and cool a little.
Mix the refried beans with the salsa until it is smooth and creamy. Crush the tortilla chips in a plastic bag with a rolling pin.
Place 1/4 of the meat in the bottom of each pie shell, next dollop on the bean/salsa mixture and smooth a little. (If you are adding
corn, olives or anything else layer it here.) Next add the cheese and then a layer of crushed chips. Repeat meat, beans, cheese, chips
until you have 2 layers of each ingredient. Bake the pies in the oven for 1/2 hour or until warmed through and the cheese is melted.
Serve with more salsa and sour cream on the side. Enjoy!

Margie’s creamy salsa corn

Saute one chopped shallot in 2 T butter in a saute pan, add 1 tsp dijon mustard, 3 T cream or milk and 3 T salsa.
Add one bag of frozen corn and saute until all is hot. Add a little salt and pepper. Serve

Margie’s salsa ranch

To any ranch dressing add 2 T salsa, 5 dashes of hot sauce and a little salt and pepper… pour on a green salad!

Taco Pie
Taco Pie
2 thoughts on “Taco Pie

  1. Linda Sieja

    Margie, I made your taco pie last night and it was a winner…everyone enjoyed it (and there are 7 of us)! I especially loved how easy it was to make (since I used store bought pie crusts!) I know I’ll be making this one often…thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

