Chocolate cake pie

Weird title, no? I had enough leftover pie dough from taco pie night and I am assigned dessert at our good friends Jen and Mike’s tonight. Since the kids are coming too, I was thinking
chocolate cream pie. But… man! I just made butterscotch cream pie recently! I hate to bore my palate with repeats so soon. (I have a spoiled palate, I know!) At any rate, I was cruising through
some old cookbooks for something new and different. I came across a recipe from the Pine Knob Inn in Pennsylvania for something called Colonial Innkeeper Pie. No wonder I never made it before: The name
is not helpful at all… so I am renaming it to what it really is: Chocolate cake pie. No matter what you name it, it sounded so different I just had to try it! It just came out of the oven and smells awesome. Here is a picture of the finished pie. It looks really yummy! It tasted great too! All 8 of us loved it! Don’t mock my effort at food styling. The pasta picture was shot by my daughter who knows a lot more than I do. She is out and I will have to do with my lame camera phone shot. Do you like how I used my bread machine for a white backdrop? Artistic I am not. I am an engineer. There are no apologies!

Chocolate cake pie

At any rate, basically you fill a pie shell with a homemade cake mixture and then you pour over a buttery chocolate mixture before you bake it. You end up with this gooey chocolate layer underneath the cake layer with a nice
crunchy top! Mmmm! It was delish! I highly recommend it as it is something I have never seen before! Our buddies treated us very well tonight to rib-eye steaks, potatoes and asparagus with hollandaise! What a dinner!
The dessert rounded out the evening with a lovely cup of coffee loaded with Mike’s concoction of Bailey’s, Amaretto and Kahlua! (He was a bartender at what time and knows what he is doing!) All and all, the kids had fun, the adults had fun and the dessert was a hit! So here it is: Renamed for posterity sake and still wonderful!

Chocolate Cake Pie

4 oz. unsweetened chocolate
1/2 cup water
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

*****************
1 cup all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup softened butter
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

*****************
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1 unbaked pie shell

In a saucepan melt the chocolate with the water and sugar. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter and 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Cool for 20 minutes. Set aside
In a large mixing bowl cream the butter and the sugar, add the egg and vanilla. Gradually add the flour and baking powder and the milk, mix on high for 3 minutes until fluffy, scrape the bowl and beat
for 1 minute more. Preheat oven to 350 deg. Pour the batter into the pie shell. Cover the batter with the cooled chocolate mixture. Sprinkle the top with the sliced almonds. Bake for 55 minutes.
Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream. (We used Guernsey’s butterscotch ripple.. it was a nice contrast!) I think you will love it as much as we did!

Chocolate cake pie
One thought on “Chocolate cake pie

Leave a Reply

