Sweet Marie Bars

Ah, a Monday and the kids are already lamenting that there are no sweet treats to go into their lunch boxes. I can’t blame them. A sandwich and an apple don’t really cut it when you are looking for a sweet fix. My kids love it all! Cookies, cakes, muffins, you name it. I like to shake up the treat options a lot as it keeps things from getting too boring. I like Rice crispy treats which are quite good, but for some reason they are only good on day 1. After a few days they get harder to chew and just don’t have that nice flavor your kids are craving. My friend, Anne, introduced me to this recipe and I thank her (at least in my head) every time I make them. These bars come together VERY quickly, and they stay delicious for several days, AND most importantly – everyone loves them! (unless you don’t like peanuts or peanut butter… sadly for you…) These are also a perfect treat for you gluten-free folks out there! Just find yourself some gluten-free crispy rice cereal or you can use rice chex if you can’t find it at the market. Note: If you are using the Rice Chex, you will want to crush them a little until you have pieces the size of Rice Crispies. Anne tells me the name of these treats comes from a Canadian candy bar that has a similar flavor. I think you will like how easy these are and will make them often!

After school snack
Sweet Marie Bars

Sweet Marie Bars

1 c peanut butter
1 c brown sugar
1 c light corn syrup

Melt the above in a double boiler or in the microwave until they are smooth. (I microwave for 2 minutes on high, stir and then microwave for 30 second intervals until they are easy to stir.)

4 c Crisped Rice cereal (for gluten free, use gluten-free rice crisps or rice chex cereal)
1 c peanuts
1 pkg milk chocolate chips

In a large bowl, add 4 c Rice Crispies and 1 c of salted peanuts. Pour the peanut butter mixture over the cereal and nuts and mix until the cereal is completely covered. Spread the mixture in a 13×9 greased pan. Spread the chocolate chips over the bars evenly. Pop the pan under the broiler in your oven for just a moment to soften the chips so they spread evenly over the bars. Refrigerate until the chocolate is firm, cut and eat! You will love these!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. nancy greenia says:

    Had to make these and they are YUM! Used semi sweet chips just because but they are still delish! Thanks

    1. Glad you liked them Nancy! Your taste buds have cachet!

  2. Mary says:

    I can’t wait to try this. The only thing I’m afraid I might eat the whole thing!. I’m low on corn syrup so as soon as I buy more I am making this!

    1. I hope it lives up to your expectations! Thanks for the comment!

  3. Mary says:

    In my house, I’m the only one who loves treats. I made these and froze 3/4 of it. Before freezing I cut up into 2 bite pieces and put in containers. They taste great after freezing.

Leave a Reply

