One Bowl Molasses Cookies

Whew! Long day! I am a pretty busy gal. I have 4 kids, two dogs, a bunny and I work too! (I know… so are you, I apologize for whining.) At any rate, when I find a cookie recipe that uses only one bowl and I do not have to drag my mixer out to make it, I am ALL OVER IT! This recipe has it all! It is simple, it is yummy and it is customizable to suit my kids tastes! What more can you ask of a cookie? NO! It will NOT bake itself! Don’t be so greedy!
I do these cookies three ways, rolled in sugar and baked, rolled in sugar, dimple the dough with your finger and put 1/2 t of jam in the center and NOT rolled in sugar, but with drizzled icing after being baked. They are all good, just pick the cookie you like, or make all three for some variety!
Without further ado, here it is:

Molasses cookies Three Ways!
Cookies and Milk!

One Bowl Molasses Cookies

Makes 3 dozen

1/4 c butter
1/4 c molasses
1 c sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp allspice
1 tsp ginger
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
cold water (1-3 T)
sugar for dipping
jam if you like it.

Icing drizzle if you like it: 1 c powdered sugar, 1/4 t vanilla, 1-3 T milk, stir until a drizzling consistency, adding 1 T milk at a time.

Preheat oven to 350 deg. Melt butter for 1 minute or so in a large glass bowl in the microwave. Add all the other ingredients. Mix well with a rubber spatula or a wooden spoon. Add cold water 1 T at a time until the mixture will easily form a ball. Form dough into 1 in. balls. Roll the balls in sugar. (Note: do not sugar if you will be using the icing and if using the jam, dimple the cookie with your finger and put 1/2 t jam in the hole) Place 12 balls on a baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes or until done. Cool and serve. Congratulate yourself on having cookies ready so fast!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Babygirl says:

    I haven’t seen this recipe is ages. My grandmother would make molasses cookies and they are heavenly to me. Loved this post.

    1. Yeah! I agree… so old fashioned and delicious! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a comment