Sloppy Joe Pizza

One taste that has stayed with me from childhood to adulthood is the taste for a good Sloppy Joe sandwich! Sloppy Joes with a side of fries was a meal that would always put a smile on my face. My Mom used to use the Durkee seasoning sloppy joe packet mixed with a can of tomato paste and water. It was really good, but I have to say that as I grew up I developed a more refined palate. (Tchhh! Not THAT refined! I still LOVE Sloppy Joes!) Now I like to play a little more with seasonings and flavors and I have come up with a Sloppy Joe recipe that I think is pretty darn good. It is very easy to make, it feeds LOADS of people and kids love it, including my college boy’s poker gang! You can keep it warm in a crock pot after you make it and it will be great for any party! I love to make pizza, and I thought I would try to make a version of a Sloppy Joe Pizza. You can make the pizza and still have plenty of Sloppy Joes left for lunch the next day! We were invited to our buddy’s house last night for Garage Bar Night. They have turned their garage into a bar that is not to be believed, and on special occasions the Garage Bar is open for business! I decided the pizza would make a nice addition to our evening, It was REALLY good, and all the kids loved it! Check out the pics from the evening:

Sloppy Joe Pizza
Make mine Extra schloppy!

Sloppy Joe Pizza

1 1/2 c ketchup
1/4 c apple cider vinegar
1/4 c A-1 Sauce
1/4 c Worcestershire sauce
1 large onion, chopped
1/2 can or bottle beer (The cook should drink the rest… waste not, want not!)
2 T tomato paste
3 lbs ground chuck
1 T Montreal Steak Seasoning

For pizza:

pizza dough
shredded sharp cheddar cheese
olive oil
2 cloves garlic crushed
kosher salt and pepper

In large pot, saute the onions and ground beef until the onions are soft and the beef is cooked. Drain all the fat from the pot. Add all the other ingredients, saute on medium heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

At this point you can just serve on buns or turn it into a yummy pizza by laying your dough out on an sheet pan brushed with olive oil, brush it with olive oil and scatter the garlic over top with your hands. Salt and pepper the dough.
Place the dough into a 425 deg oven for about 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven and cover the surface with about 4 cups of the Sloppy Joes, and place the shredded cheddar over the top of it all. ( I used about 1-2 cups of cheese…) Bake for another 5 minutes until the cheese is melted and the crust is a lovely golden brown. Serve and Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Sloppy Joe Pizza

  1. Deb

    This looks great! I think I’ll try it the next time the kids come over for dinner. The bun looks really good – not like the typical pkg type – what kind is it? Do you grill the buns?

    • cookingforsix

      It is just a nice hamburger bun from Hermann’s bakery! They have the nicest rolls! And YES! Grill the buns or toast them… sometimes I butter them and shake a sprinkle of garlic powder (just a little) before I toast them.. it is a nice contrast!

  2. Jessica

    I really LOVED your Sloppy Joe Pizza. I will admit that when you first said you were making it I was a little bit doubtful about the idea but one bite and I was a fan! I loved the crust too and hope you will post your crust recipe soon.

Leave a Reply

