Quick and Dirty Squash Pasta

I LOVE squash ravioli sauteed in a little sage butter, there is nothing better! The unfortunate thing is that I can rarely find it, don’t have time to make it, and my darn brother who makes it lives to darn far away! Sigh. My friend Sue, cooked me dinner a little while back and served this dish to me! I loved it. It was comforting and flavorful without being over-the-top, and I sure enjoyed the meal and the company (as well as the wine!). I did a little research and there are lots of other recipes out there for similar dishes. I experimented a little and I think that the simplest version is the best. (The one Sue made me.) I tried it out on my kids the other night, and the little buggers surprised me and loved it! Don’t ever underestimate the palate of a child, I guess. So here it is, you Vegan pasta lovers out there! It is quick, it is easy and it tastes great! Mangia!

Roasted Squash and Onion Pasta
Roasted Squash and Onion Pasta

Roasted Squash and Onion Pasta

1 squash of your choice, peeled and diced (They sell butternut squash ready to go at Trader Joes!)
1 onion, diced
3-4 T olive oil
1 lb of farfalle, ziti or any pasta really…
Salt and pepper
freshly grated nutmeg
Parmesan cheese
Toasted walnuts (optional, Sue nor I used them)

Preheat oven to 425 deg. Put squash and onions on a baking sheet and drizzle 3-4 T of olive oil over and toss to coat. Roast in the oven for 30 minutes or until tender. While the squash is cooking, boil a large pot of salted water for the pasta and cook it until al dente. Before you drain the pasta, skim off 1 cup of the pasta water and reserve. Drain the pasta. Put back in the pot and pour the squash and onions over the top. Add kosher salt and pepper and then add just enough pasta water to make a creamy sauce for the pasta. Add 1/2 cup or so of parmesan cheese, stir and serve with the toasted walnuts on top if you like them. Enjoy!

Butternut Squash on FoodistaButternut Squash

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh yum! I don’t always have time to make ravioli, either, and when I do, squash is NOT my kids’ favorite filling! This is a must try!

    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

