World’s ugliest Appetizer?

Ugly yes, but make them anyway… you will thank me later. This unappetizing appetizer is the first thing to go whenever I serve it. They are so tasty and versatile! I have switched up the ingredients so many times I cannot even count them all. I like to keep all the ingredients on hand for when unexpected guests drop in, which is easy to do since they happen to be items that are usually there anyway. I always have cocktail Rye bread in the freezer, but this also works well on slices of baguette, just make sure they are cut very thin. I have tried chopped artichoke hearts, chopped sun dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers… every time it comes out well. You can even use chopped shrimp or canned crab and use a full slice of bread for a lovely side sandwich for your soup and sandwich meal! Use your imagination and I know that you will make this recipe again and again, no matter how unattractive they are. As my Dad always said: “All my taste is in my mouth!”

Olive and cheese canapes
Olive and cheese canapes

Toasted Olive Canapes

16 slices of cocktail sized bread (use rye, sourdough… whatever
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 cup good mayo
1 small can of chopped black olives, drained (or 1/3 cup of chopped roasted red peppers, sun dried tomatoes or canned artichoke hearts)
1/2 cup green onions, chopped
5 dashes of hot sauce
1/2 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 475 deg, combine all ingredients except the bread and mix well. Spread mixture over each slice of bread and lay the bread out on a cookie sheet. Bake for 6-8 minutes or until the bottoms are a light brown and cheese mixture is a golden brown. Serve immediately to an adoring audience.

3 thoughts on “World’s ugliest Appetizer?

  1. Erin Hutton

    Ooh! Sometimes the ugliest foods are the best. This has just reminded me of an appetizer I used to make with sausage and soft cheese – it’s very much the same concept. Thanks for the reminder and the new flavor ideas!

Leave a Reply

