It’s all in the sauce

Want to build a better burger? Who doesn’t? I feel like I have come a long way from the days of grilling up the Sam’s club frozen meat disks (Tasteless and dry), and am constantly looking for ways to elevate one of my kids favorite meals. Now I always use my own fresh ground beef, Sprinkle it with some steak seasoning and grill it until it is medium/well for the kids and medium/rare for hubby and I. Right before I take it off the grill I like to brush that burger with my basting sauce. It really brings out the flavor n the beef. My kids used to like their burger with just ketchup, but not anymore! I introduced the family to “Mom’s Burger Sauce”…. it is a concoction of my own creation and is dynamite on a burger! Now if I serve burgers without burger sauce i get lambasted. Spoiled little buggers. At any rate, here is my recipe for the best burger. I think it is pretty spectacular, so give it a try. You might have to spoil your family from now on too!

burger

Margie’s better burger

For the burger baste:

2 T butter
1 tsp anchovy paste (Honestly.. just TRY it!)
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp brown sugar
4 dashes of hot sauce
1 T lemon juice

Melt the butter in the microwave, add all the other ingredients and baste those burgers on both sides right before they come off the grill.

For the burgers:

2 lbs ground round
Montreal Steak seasoning
6 burger buns (I like the brioche buns from Trader Joes or some other good bakery bun.)

Form beef into 6 – 1/3 lb patties. Shake a little Montreal seasoning on both sides of the patties. Heat grill well. Cook burgers for 4-7 minutes per side or until done to your liking. Baste the burgers with the burger baste on both sides using a brush. (If making cheeseburgers, put the cheese on now, and close the lid just until it melts.) Take the burgers off the grill and let rest 3 minutes. Place the bun halves on the grill facing down and toast them lightly

For the onions:

Before you put the burgers on the grill, peel and halve 1 large onion and thinly cut it into half-rings. Double some aluminum foil and put the onions in the center, add 1 T olive oil, salt, pepper and 1 tsp sugar and toss. Seal up the foil packet and put it on the grill 5 minutes before the burgers go on. Turn the packet a few times while cooking and take it off when the burgers come off too.

For the burger sauce:

1/3 cup ketchup
3 T mayo
2 T sweet pickle relish
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp horseradish
2 tsp minced peppadew peppers
1 tsp grated onion

Mix all the sauce ingredients and chill for 1/2 hour or more

To build the burger:

Put a patty on the bottom of the bun, add the cooked onions, spread the burger sauce on the top bun, put it all together and YUM! I like to serve it with lettuce and tomato as well… Enjoy!

Ground Beef

6 thoughts on “It’s all in the sauce

  1. Laurie

    OK, I had to go purchase spices this week because all these recipes have all kinds of things I dont own!! Glad I got the Montreal Seasoning as it was a foreign word to me until i started reading your blog. Now I am using it regularly…cant wait to make Jake one of these..loves hot sauce on anything

  2. Babygirl

    Who doesn’t love a classic burger recipe? I know I do lol. Wonderful post. I am serious about my burgers as well and I think we all have different but unique ways of making them. Love this post.

  3. Ant

    Hi. What is ‘anchovy paste’? Is it the stuff one spreads on toast, or whole anchovies from a jar, ground to a paste?

Leave a Reply

