Brownies that don’t taste Gluten-free, but ARE!

I have two good buddies that have a gluten allergy, so I have been trying to think of alternatives to traditional recipes that my friends can enjoy. Most recently my friend, Joan, and her son took excellent care of our bunny, Lucy. (Note: Lucy is a boy rabbit… long story) (Side note: Rabbits live a lot longer than you expect. Lucy has been with us for 8 years and we got her when she was 4, we like to joke that she/he continues living out of spite.)
At any rate, I wanted to thank Joan for taking such excellent care of our little critter so I decided to experiment with these brownies. Brownies seemed like a good place to start with gluten-free as they don’t use much flour anyway, and since I was trying to make something healthier, I decided to experiment with agave syrup as well. I also decided to attempt swirls of Nutella on these brownies for hoots and giggles. I think it added an interesting texture to the finished brownies, but I still like peanut butter swirls better. The salty/sweet taste rocks! They came out beautifully, so beautifully that they were all eaten before I could bring them to Joan! (At least I know they were good, though.) So here it is: my version of gluten free brownies. And, Joan: I will be sending over a nice bottle of Pinot! Thanks for being such a good neighbor!

gluten free brownies
For Joan

Gluten free brownies

4 squares of Baker’s unsweetened chocolate
3/4 cup of unsalted butter
1/2 tsp of kosher salt
1 and 1/4 cup of sugar
3/4 cup of agave syrup
3 eggs
1 T vanilla
1/2 cup of almond meal/flour
1/2 cup rice flour

Swirl options: spoonfuls of peanut butter or nutella

Preheat oven to 350 deg. Prepare a 13×9 pan by lining with foil. Spray the foil with cooking spray and set aside. Put chocolate and butter in a large bowl and microwave for 2 minutes on high. Stir. If not smooth keep microwaving for 10 second intervals until it is smooth. Add the sugar, agave and the vanilla and the salt and stir. Add the 3 eggs and stir until incorporated. Add the flours and mix until it is incorporated as well. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and use a spatula to even it out in the pan. Dollop peanut butter or nutella on the batter and then swirl with a knife. Bake for 33 minutes. Cool. Eat. Note: To easily cut my brownies I slip the foil right onto the counter and then place a cutting board right below it and gently pull the brownies onto the board while separating them from the foil. They are WAY easier to cut that way!

Leave a Reply

