Remember Kandy Kakes?

I grew up with Tasty Cakes snack cakes,but sadly, they don’t sell them in the Midwest. They held a special place in my lunch box, and I loved them all! The Butterscotch Krimpets, the Chocolate Cupcakes, but my favorite was the Kandy Kakes! Vanilla cake covered in peanut butter and then enrobed with chocolate. My Mom used to keep them in the freezer hoping we would not snitch them, but unfortunately for her, they were just as good frozen. I was looking for a dessert to take to a friend’s house the other day and found a recipe for Kandy Kake Cake in my St. Ambrose Cookbook (circa 1997). I have to say that they tasted exactly like I remember Kandy Kakes! I froze the leftovers and they freeze beautifully to put in your kids’ lunch boxes! I switched it up a little and did one third peanut butter, one third nutella and one third raspberry jam to see how they would come out. They were all yummy! This recipe makes one large sheet cake, but don’t worry you can always freeze some for your kids to snitch later!

Kandy Kake Cake
Kandy Kake Cake

Kandy Kake Cake (From St. Ambrose Cookbook 1997 credited to St. Ambrose Helper)

4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 c. milk
2 c sugar
2 c flour
2 T butter
8oz. grated milk chocolate bars (Hersheys) or chips.
1/1/4 c. peanut butter, Nutella or Raspberry jam

Heat milk and butter in the microwave until butter is melted. Beat the eggs with the sugar and vanilla. Add the flour, salt and baking powder. Add the milk/butter mixture. Pour batter into a large cookie sheet (jelly roll pan) that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick comes out cleanly. Spread the peanut butter or other topping over the warm cake. Let cool thoroughly. Melt the chocolate in the microwave and then spread it all over the cooled cake. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Remember Kandy Kakes?

  1. Linda Sieja

    Well, I don’t remember Kandy Kakes but I tried your recipe anyhow. Boy am I glad I did! These were a big hit at my house…and so easy to make! And like you said, they make great lunch box stuffers. I especially like how they are not overpowered by the chocolate. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE any type of chocolate/peanut butter combo, but this was a nice change to having chocolate be the main ingredient. Keep the yummy recipes coming!

Leave a Reply

