When the oven is broke, make no-bake cookies

My oven broke! This is serious business around here unless it is the height of summer! My oven rocks around the clock, and my little ones expect at least one baked good to be lying around the house. Time for my favorite recipe when you cannot turn on your oven – No-bake Cookies! They really are more like fudge, but I guess the addition of oats lets them become a cookie. I am sure you have all made versions of these before, but this is my favorite, the one I learned at my mother’s knee. The only change is that I like to add toasted coconut and chopped toasted almonds. You can leave them plain if you like, though… I won’t mind!

nobake cookies
No-Bake Cookies

No-Bake Cookies

2 cups sugar
4 T cocoa powder
1 stick of unsalted butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1 cup peanut butter
1 T vanilla
3 cups oatmeal (if not using the coconut or nuts increase to 3 and 1/2 cups)
1/2 cup toasted coconut
1/4 cup toasted chopped almonds

In a saucepan heat all ingredients except oats, coconut and almonds. Let boil for 1 minute, remove from heat and stir in the other ingredients.
Drop by Tablespoon onto wax paper or a silpat. Let cool. Eat.

Leave a Reply

